Poem: Hollow Words

Hollow words
Which should hold no weight
Shake me
Break me
Surrounded by silver tongues
Including my own
Their words
Stabbing at me
I’m not who I thought
I would be
I’m not where I thought
I would be
Lost dreams
Forgotten thoughts
Misguided hope
This is what makes me
In a world
All my own
I gaze around
Lost in mind
Where has the child gone
With innocent eyes
Step by step
Left far behind
Walking in the rain,
I have realised
This is what it means
To have grown
Step by step
Truth is shown
Picking oneself up
Moving on
Remembering the past
Pushing through today
Hoping to glimpse tomorrow
Holding on for those rare moments
Time moves quickly
As youth is lost
Wisdom is gained
Through mistakes once made
I am not where I thought
I would be
I am not who I assumed
I would be
But I am where
I need to be

Leave a Reply

