Alone With Wolves: Chapter 1, part 3

The mysterious dead man has left his coat to Lyra as his last request. What could he possibly have in mind for her? Why would he leave his coat to her? Why does Lyra suddenly find herself standing in front of him?

I hope you enjoy this next part!

________________________________________________

Previously in Part 2:

“Do not worry; I mean you no harm.” His voice was deep and smooth. I took no comfort from his words yet my body acted on its own. To my horror I walked forward and sat on the floor and looked at him like a child getting ready to be told a story. Questions formed in my mind but there was no need to voice them because he already started to answer them before I could ask.

________________________________________________

Chapter 1

Part 3

“Dear, dear child, I am sorry it has come to this. We are in the stone’s void. I have not died in vain for I have found you. I have run for many days. I have drained all that my body had to offer. I pushed it too far. From the day I left my sanctuary, I have been hunted.” His words scared and confused me. I looked at him. Surely I was hallucinating. It was the only way this was possible.

“Hunted?” I asked curiously noticing the slight shiver that ran along the length of his body.

“Yes, by Fisonds.” Seeing my confused expression he went on to explain, “They are evil creatures. Slaves of the very person I have run from. They are the ones who ripped me. I was lucky.” I looked at this man. How was being dead lucky? I focused back onto what he was saying. “Fisonds have diamond hard skin that look as thin as paper. There are few weak points on a Fisond.” He paused looking into the distance. “What am I doing?” He exclaimed, “I am rambling on about something irrelevant.”  I interrupted his mumbling.

“How is it that you are lucky? Wouldn’t it have been better to survive? That reminds me, how is that you managed to get to the Cave after such a bad wound?” I asked thinking that Chris would like to know. With the wound he had, he would have been shuffling along and we would have noticed his approach days ago.

“Yes, that’s right. I forgot. They are keeping the knowledge to themselves. I travelled here by magic. I transported myself here. In a way you could say I both doomed and saved myself.” He laughed in a hysterical way.

“The Fisond is drawn to magic. So I had refrained from using it till the last moment when I knew I was doomed either way. I chose the least painful. For you see, the Fisonds are worse than most realise. Death is a blessing. A Fisond doesn’t immediately kill its prey. First they catch them and then they paralyze them. Then they close in and slowly start eating the prey keeping them alive for as long as possible. Then just before they die they steal the soul. The soul is then trapped within a crystal prison.” I was horrified and shuddered at the mental picture this man had just put before me but he continued with what he had to tell me. “They were sent after me because I stole something, something important.I only did it to save lives. I have to have it destroyed but I am in no condition to do it myself. I was looking for you. I was going to take you with me, but now it seems as if you must go on without me.” I was surprised, “I know I ask a lot but will you take over my mission? Will you make my death have some meaning?” I looked at him. I could feel his eyes staring at me, pleading. I tried to refuse but I could not. When I tried to say no, my gut screamed no. It felt wrong to deny this man’s request. To my surprise I smiled and accepted. He told me the incantation that would make the stone mine. As soon as he finished speaking the suffocating feeling came back. It felt as if the air was being sucked out of my lungs, forcibly ripped out instead of being drawn in. The last thing I heard before suffocating was him whispering,

“Remember…”

It was not very clear. When I opened my eyes again I was back in my room with my finger still on the stone. I quickly bundled up the stones careful not to touch them and threw the coat under my cot. I did not sleep well that night. I kept dreaming I was on the run from Fisonds.

________________________________________________

Previous Alone With Wolves chapters and parts

________________________________________________

Copyright © 2017 by Tessa Louis Davies
All rights reserved. This book or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review or scholarly journal.
Publishing by Tessa
Cinderella, Boksburg, South Africa 1459
Twitter/Facebook/Instagram: @TessaLDavies

________________________________________________

Thank you for reading this part of Alone With Wolves! I would love to know your thoughts up until this point in the story. What did think of it so far?

One thought on “Alone With Wolves: Chapter 1, part 3

Leave a Reply

