Alone With Wolves: Chapter 1, Part 1

Wow and so here we are already with the official start of the book. Please remember I would like to know your honest opinions as you read this. However please be fair. If you would like to read the prologue please click here.  From the next part on wards I shall have the previous part after the copy right so that it is easier to keep track. I have also created a tab so that you can easily find and access all parts of this story in one single place.

Otherwise, I hope you will enjoy this segment!

________________________________________________

CHAPTER 1

Part 1

There was a loud bang outside the Cave where I boarded. The night had been quiet. I was on watch duty with a few of the other girls. Slowly, I crept up towards the dark mass on the ground. I made sure not to leave the protective magical boundary. I was ready to shoot my bow if I had to. I was shocked to find a man unconscious on just the other side of the border. He was covered in mud and upon closer scrutiny; I saw his clothes were wet with blood. I lifted my bow, scanning the surrounding trees. I whistled to call my fellow guards for help. I kept my knife within easy reach and my bow drawn tight ready to shoot until my fellow guards came splashing towards me, their bows at the ready. Yori, our mentor, took one look at the man and ran to get the head healer, Miss Dale. While we waited for Yori and Miss Dale, lightning flashed across the sky with a blinding light, revealing the woods surrounding the Cave. A slow shower started as the head healer quickly came towards us. One close look at him and she instructed us to take him inside to the healing cavern at once.

Checking one last time I crossed the boundary. There was a brief pause while we all waited for something to happen. I grabbed the man under his arms and dragged him inside the boundary. My feet slipped a little in the mud and I almost dropped him. Charlotte grabbed the man’s feet, her blonde hair briefly touching the muddy ground when it fell forward.  Her eyes met mine as we both carried him in. He was difficult to carry. We tried to keep him still as we navigated our way down the slight slope into the Cave. He gave a slight shudder once we were inside. The air cooled the deeper we went. We took one of the side tunnels and entered the caverns dedicated to healing.

“Yori, prepare the equipment we will need. Lyra you clean him up and get rid of the infected skin. Charlotte, I need the light to be brighter.” Miss Dale instructed and we instantly set to it. I grabbed the disinfectant and went straight to the wounds on his chest. There were three gouges across his chest rife with infection.

The edges were yellow and green. I waited until Charlotte finished applying the powder to the walls. Once she was done, the walls glowing brightly gave us ample light to see. I started to cut away the infected flesh as Yori started to stitch up his hands. Once I was done cleaning his wounds, I moved out of the way so that Yori could do her job and stitch where she could. I got some more warm water out of the warm pool from one of the side chambers and started cleaning the man’s face. He was handsome with high cheek bones and pale pink lips. I started cleaning his hair when I looked up to see the Head healer watching me. Her gaze fell to the man’s face and I saw a flicker of recognition in her eyes. She quickly looked at me again.  I continued what I was doing. I studied his face. His eyes were surrounded by fine lines and his beard had streaks of gray in it. For the first time I wondered who this man was. I soon left to get out of their way.

I returned to my post and joined Charlotte. She smiled at me sadly. We do not get many outsiders that come to our Cave. We remained silent, each of us lost in our own thoughts. I smelt a sickly rotten fish odour on the wind. The hairs on the back of my neck stood up and I was grateful for the protective magical boundary that had been recently put up. I still did not know why it had been put up. None of us had been told why the protection had been increased as much as it had.

Maybe it had to do with that man? Slowly I watched as the last of the three moons dipped into the horizon and the sun stretched up into the morning sky. When my watch was relieved, I went to the healing rooms to see how the man was doing.

I found Yori sleeping behind the desk in the corner, her chocolate brown hair fanned out around her pale skin. I walked quietly past her looking for Miss Dale. I found her shaking her head sadly as she leaned over the mysterious man. She took the sheet covering him and slowly covered his face. I walked over to her not sure what to do.

“It’s always sad to lose one of the good ones. Lyra please tell Master Herf I need a funeral pyre and then go get some sleep.” I nodded, my chest felt hollow and my eyes stung, who was that man? I quickly found Master Herf and told him about the pyre.

This was not my first death, far from it. I did not know this man but his death felt personal. I curled up on my bed, unable to sleep, I just lay there. Miss Dale called me to her station later. I slowly walked the tunnel way to the healing cavern once again, noting the unnatural clean smell mixed with the natural mineral smell of the Cave. My feet heavily made their way towards her station and stalled slightly after a timid knock on the wall next to the sheeting that covered the entrance of her hollowed out station.

“Come in.” Miss Dale Called. She sat behind her small wooden table. The table seemed as if it might collapse at any second underneath its contents of paper and an oddly shaped bundle. Miss Dale watched me with her shrewd hazel eyes just behind her sharp protruding nose. Her lips were thinned, never a good sign. She indicated for me to sit. I sat and watched the candlelight dance on the Cave walls.

________________________________________________

Copyright © 2017 by Tessa Louis Davies

All rights reserved. This book or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review or scholarly journal.

Publishing by Tessa
Cinderella, Boksburg, South Africa 1459

Twitter/Facebook/Instagram: @TessaLDavies

________________________________________________

6 thoughts on “Alone With Wolves: Chapter 1, Part 1

Leave a Reply

